Day 87: Pick up the phone, God is calling (1 Sam. 1-3)

Posted: June 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

The LORD came and stood there, calling as at the other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” Then Samuel said, “Speak, for your servant is listening.” – 1 Samuel 3:10

“Adam! Adam!” Sometimes I wonder how many times God calls me by name and I go about my usual business, my every day routine, ignoring His voice. I wake up, take my shower, turn on my radio program, brush my teeth, get dressed, go to work, do my business, come home, eat some dinner, maybe hang out with the wife for a little while, and all the while, how much of that time are my ears plugged? How many times have I been ignorant of God’s call in my life, or just not heard Him calling me? How many opportunities have I missed to serve my LORD?

As I opened up the book of 1 Samuel tonight, I see the beginning of the life of a great man of God. Born of a woman, Hannah, who vowed to give her child to the LORD if He gave her one, Samuel, in his early years, lived a life saturated by the ways of God. Working under the priest Eli in the temple, Samuel was a priest in training, and did whatever he had to do to serve. Even this young man, whose life was in tune with God, needed four tries in the temple with Eli before he finally caught on to God’s call.

“Samuel!”

“Eli? Is that you?”

“No, kid, get back to work!” (I may be paraphrasing a bit here!)

“OK, sorry about that…”

“Samuel!”

“Eli? I could have sworn that was you.”

“Kid, seriously, you’re buggin’ me!”

“Sorry.”

“Samuel.”

“OK, seriously Eli,  are you kidding me?”

“OK kid, I think I see what’s going on…”

Although we may not hear God literally yelling out to get our attention like God did for Samuel, we can still keep our “ears” open for opportunities God throws our way. He may not call us on our cell phones, Facebook us, or text us directions for every day living, but we have His Word, the Bible, our guide book for life.

This story also speaks to my heart about the issue of age. God doesn’t care about how old you are, your status (in the church, or otherwise), your popularity, your looks, your charisma, or any other superficial feature you may be endowed with. God cares about faith. In the case of Samuel, he was but a boy when God called him. It doesn’t matter if you are 10 or 100. If you’re faith is rock solid in the most solid Rock, God’s voice will come in loud and clear, so next time you hear that phone ringing in your spirit, pick it up. It just might be God calling.

Can you hear me now?

Comments
  1. Nick Ford says:

    Funny how ‘God’ gave Jon a ring tonight, its always amazing to see god give us connections we can relate to in his word.

Leave a Reply

