Day 205: Your love is better than life (Psalm 56-70)

Posted: October 22, 2010 in Uncategorized

O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water.  I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you. On my bed I remember you; I think of you through the watches of the night. Because you are my help, I sing in the shadow of your wings. My soul clings to you; your right hand upholds me. – Psalm 63:1-8

There are a lot of praise songs out there, and I’d like to think I have a heard a great number of them (although I am sure there are thousands just waiting to be heard), and as I have been reading through Psalms, I am picking up phrases here and there, words and sentences that I recognize as lyrics in some of my favorite hymns and contemporary worship hits.

Even tonight, as I was going through Psalm 63, a psalm of desire for God’s presence, a longing for His will, my brain clicked as I came across the phrase in verse 3 – “Your love is better than life.”

Immediately, I thought of the catchy guitar/synth vocal intro  riff from “Your Love is Better Than Life,” by the Newsboys off of their album, “Go.” This may have been the first time I have ever been inspired to hum a synth/pop tune by the Bible, but I digress.

After my initial sing-along (and subsequent listen to the song on my computer), I started to think about the meaning of such a phrase. “Your love is better than life.” It’s pretty straight forward, God’s love is greater than anything this world has to offer, even our entire lives, but what does it mean to me?

There are a lot of things I treasure in this life. Just looking around my office, I see a lot of things I might consider “treasures.” A few autographed items here and there, some sentimental value items from my wife, some *ahem* action figures (they aren’t dolls!) – I consider these things valuable. This items can be bought however, for the right price. I love my truck, but for the right price, I’d let it go. My autographed 2009 UConn Huskies signed basketball? Sure. Just give me the right price. Even my extensive collection of movies. Just name the price. God’s love? Hmm, well this is a little different.

Writing this psalm, David as a desperate man. Hiding in the Desert of Judah, David was on the run, hiding, hungry, thirsty, lonely, longing for a friend. God was that friend who came to the rescue, a Friend that could be trusted in all times of peril and tribulation. God’s love, compared to all other things, even his very life, was better, because it made everything better.

God’s love is indeed, better than life. Anything that we go through, God’s love can conquer it all. It is better than our troubles, our pain, our grief and sorrow, our inconveniences, our sins, our anger, our jealousy, our pride, our struggles, our treasures, our status and our fame. It is better than you and me, our families and the most well-known people of all the earth, past and present. It is greater than our achievements, our dreams, and our wildest imaginations. It is the very hope of God, His love, His grace, that sustains us. Is there anything better? You can bet your life there isn’t.

Here’s a link to the Newsboys song, “Your Love is Better Than Life,” if you haven’t heard it!

Leave a Reply

