Day 244: Live and learn, learn to live (Psalm 78-89)

Posted: December 2, 2010 in Uncategorized

My people, hear my teaching; listen to the words of my mouth. I will open my mouth with a parable; I will utter hidden things, things from of old—things we have heard and known,things our ancestors have told us.We will not hide them from their descendants; we will tell the next generation the praiseworthy deeds of the LORD, his power, and the wonders he has done. He decreed statutes for Jacob and established the law in Israel, which he commanded our ancestors to teach their children, so the next generation would know them, even the children yet to be born, and they in turn would tell their children. Then they would put their trust in God and would not forget his deeds but would keep his commands. They would not be like their ancestors—a stubborn and rebellious generation, whose hearts were not loyal to God, whose spirits were not faithful to him. – Psalm 78: 1-8

You think I would have learned.

It’s been more than a month since I have logged an entry into my Odyssey, for a mixture of reasons, reasons that would be pointless to go into much detail about here. The point is, I have lost an entire month, with no progress made. Throughout the last month, which has flown by like an absolute blur, I look back and see that the devil has really tried hard to keep me away from this blog. My prayer life, my study times, my entire relationship with God has suffered. I have to admit, for the last 36 days, Satan has won the battle.

It ends tonight.

It’s funny how God’s Word works sometimes. I’ve written about this very topic before in past posts, but it’s great how God gives you the lesson you need to hear exactly when you need to hear it. My first chapter back in the Word tonight , Psalm 78, written by Asaph, should really be titled “Live and Learn,” because it’s essentially a written history of Israel, and more specifically, the mistakes they made along the way, forsaking God, and the inevitable consequences. Being an Israelite and reading this, one can see the lesson of the story being “What Not To Do.”

But personally tonight, I see the Psalm as an encouraging bit of Scripture. So many times, I have willingly traveled the Godless road, the “I Can Do It Myself” path – the Journey of Solitude. I drift, coast and float aimlessly in my spiritual walk, choosing instead the easy path filled with sin and distractions. Then I return to God, hands lifted high, sincerely repentant, and all seems well with my soul. I’m on top of the world!

How true this was of the Israelites. The endless cycle. The fall, the return. And then what? We are supposed to learn from our mistakes and learn to walk in the holy path of Christ, the righteous path. Not only that, we are supposed to learn from the mistakes of those who have come before us, serving as examples. But what do we do? After a brief period of spiritual oneness, sin creeps back in, corrupts little by little, and the fall happens all over again.

When will I ever learn?

The thing about this blog, to me, is that it really means more to me than just a blog. It’s a life lesson. It’s a collection of thoughts relating to life as the Bible teaches it should be lived, and my examples of how I sometimes just plain come up short. This amalgamation of words is but a mere sampling of what God’s Word speaks to me when I read it, helping me on my sometimes turbulent path, scratching and clawing, back to Him. But that’s the journey, isn’t it? The road is never straight and wide, smooth sailing. It’s full of turns, potholes, and even some unexpected detours. The important part isn’t the road – it’s the destination, and praise God that He is there at the end waiting for me despite my mistakes! Praise Him even more that He travels the road by my side!

Today is December 1, a full eight months since I started on this Odyssey. Only four months remain, and I am very much behind. But you know what? It’s OK, because although I still plan to finish on April 1, 2011, my journey will be far from over. God will never be finished teaching me lessons, and I hope I will be able to have the discerning heart to learn from my past mistakes and walk with my Savior. By living and learning, maybe I’ll truly learn to live.

Until tomorrow, here’s to life’s lessons learned, and a new day of trying to live life right.

Leave a Reply

